NEW DELHI: The Congress on Friday announced another set of changes in the organisation, dropping Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mallikarjun Kharge as general secretaries while promoting spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala.
Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi has also constituted a 6-member special committee to assist her in organizational and operational matters.
The members of this special committee are A K Antony, Ahmad Patel, Ambika Soni, K C Venugopal, Mukul Wasnik and Randeep Singh Surjewala. Surjewala has also been made the general secretary in-charge for Congress affairs in Karnataka.
Others dropped as general secretaries includes Motilal Vora, Ambika Soni, and Luizinho Falerio.
The party has also reconstituted the Congress Working Committee and the Central Election Authority.
P Chidambaram, Jitendra Singh, Tariq Anwar and Randeep Surjewala have been made regular CWC members in organisational rejig by Sonia Gandhi.
Azad was among 23 leaders who had written a letter to party chief Sonia Gandhi calling for a complete overhaul of the organisation, a full-time president and elections to Congress Working Committee.
From the ‘group of 23,’ Azad and Anand Sharma continue to be regular members of the CWC, while Jitin Prasada has been made a permanent invitee to CWC from being a special invitee earlier.
Prasada has also been made in-charge of party affairs in West Bengal.
(With agency inputs)