NEW DELHI: Kuwait on Saturday banned commercial flights to 31 “high risk” countries, including India, Singapore, Italy, Spain, Hong Kong and China, to prevent the spread of coronavirus.
India aviation authorities had on Friday said a “transport bubble agreement had been signed with Kuwait to rescue stranded passenger both to/from India” recently. Officials say this special travel arrangement could now be affected with Kuwait banning flights until further notice.
The DGCA of Kuwait said commercial flights to 31 countries were being banned on the instructions of the health authorities. Some of the other countries in this list are Sri Lanka, Nepal, Mexico, Indonesia, Chile, Pakistan, Egypt, Iran, Brazil, Colombia, Bangladesh and Philippines.
“The situation remains dynamic and evolving with regard to travel rules of different countries. This uncertainty could remain till either the pandemic situation improves or a vaccine is found,” said an airline official.